Shortlist Announced – The Urbanism Awards 2014

Shortlist Announced – The Urbanism Awards 2014

We are delighted to present the 50 places shortlisted by our panel for The Urbanism Awards 2014:

The European City of the Year
Istanbul – Turkey
Liverpool – England
Malmö – Sweden
Marseilles – France
Rotterdam – Netherlands
San Sebastian – Spain
Sarajevo – Bosnia and Herzegovina
Turin – Italy
Vienna – Austria
Zurich – Switzerland

The Great Town
Aberystwyth – Ceredigion, Wales
Bury – Lancashire, England
Buxton – Derbyshire, England
Cork – County Cork, Ireland
Haddington – East Lothian, Scotland
Hastings – East Sussex, England
Letchworth Garden City – Hertfordshire, England
Middlesbrough – Teesside, England
Wakefield – West Yorkshire, England
Wells – Somerset, England

The Great Neighbourhood
Bermondsey Street Area – London, England
Chorlton – Manchester, England
Devonshire Quarter – Sheffield, England
Great Notley – Braintree, Essex, England
Ipswich Wet Dock – Ipswich, England
Hackney Wick – London, England
Wolverton – Milton Keynes, England
West End – Glasgow, Scotland
Grand Canal Quarter – Dublin, Ireland
Saltaire – Bradford, England

The Great Street
Biggar High Street – Biggar, Scotland
Bridge Street / North Street – Taunton, England
Kempock Street – Gourock, Scotland
Lamb’s Conduit Street – London, England
Manor Street – Dublin, Ireland
Newry Street – Banbridge, Northern Ireland
North Street, Bedminster – Bristol, England
Park Lane / Poynton High Street – Cheshire, England
South Promenade – Bridlington, England
Venn Street, Clapham – London, England

The Great Place
Cathedral Square – Peterborough, England
Custard Factory – Birmingham, England
Duke of York Square – London, England
Greengate Exchange – Salford, England
Milk Market – Limerick, Ireland
Old Market Square – Nottingham, England
Ouseburn Valley – Newcastle, England
Phoenix Initiative – Coventry, England
Southend Pier – Southend-on-Sea, England
St. Nicholas Market – Bristol, England


The Next Stage

Vote for our Finalists
Academicians are now invited to vote for their top three places in each category. These places will progress to the next round as Finalists. Visit our voting page.

The Finalists Announcement – The Congress Dinner
The results of this round of voting will be announced at The Congress Dinner taking place on the evening of 16 May in Bradford. For more information on The Annual Congress – this year focusing on the theme of The Producer City – please visit the Congress page.

Assessment Visits – Open to All Academicians
Following the announcement of the 15 Finalists during The Congress Dinner in May, the Academy will embark on a programme of assessment visits. The visits take place between July – September and are only open to Academicians. We are still looking for Academicians to take on the role of Deputy Assessors. Please contact Stephen Gallagher if you are interested on +44 (0) 20 7251 8777 or


Press Contact
For press enquiries, please contact Stephen Gallagher on +44 (0) 20 7251 8777 or email



Post Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.