Finalists Announced – 2020 Urbanism Awards

The Academy of Urbanism is delighted to announce 15 Great Places shortlisted by a panel of Academicians as finalists in the 2020 Urbanism Awards.

The Awards, which celebrate and learn from great placemaking, cover five categories of scale, including European City of the Year and Great Town, Neighbourhood, Street and Place.

The finalists were selected by a panel of Academicians on Tuesday 16 April ahead of the Academy’s annual Spring Debate, hosted by Grosvenor.

The Academy will now establish relationships with key stakeholders in each of the 15 places prior to a summer assessment visit. The winners of the Awards will be announced at the Urbanism Awards ceremony in London on the 27th November 2019.

The 2020 Urbanism Awards finalists are:

European City of the Year
Porto, Portugal
Sheffield, England
Utrecht, Netherlands

The Great Town
Brighton and Hove

The Great Neighbourhood
Levenshulme, Manchester
Portobello, Edinburgh
South Bank, Leeds

The Great Street
Belgrave Road, Leicester
Rye Lane, London
St Marks Road, Bristol

The Great Place
Connswater, Belfast
Old Market Square, Nottingham
Seaburn, Sunderland

For more information on the Awards process, or for press enquiries, please contact Delano Bart-Stewart at; +44 (0) 20 7251 8777

Post Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.