Finalists Announced – The Urbanism Awards 2017


The Academy of Urbanism is delighted to announce 15 Great Places shortlisted by a panel of Academicians as finalists in the 2017 Urbanism Awards.

The Awards, which celebrate and learn from great placemaking, cover five categories of scale, including European City of the Year and Great Town, Neighbourhood, Street and Place.

The results were announced by Steven Bee, Chairman of the Academy at The Annual Spring Debate on Wednesday, 27 April 2016 hosted by Grosvenor.

The Academy will now establish relationships with key stakeholders in each of the 15 places prior to a summer assessment visit.

The winners of the Awards will be announced at the 2017 Urbanism Awards ceremony on 16 November 2016.

The European City of the Year

Copenhagen, Denmark
Eindhoven, Netherlands
Montpellier, France

The Great Town

Blackpool, Lancashire
Clonakilty, County Cork
Todmorden, West Yorkshire

The Great Neighbourhood

Ashley Vale, Bristol
Newhall, Harlow
Ouseburn, Newcastle

The Great Street

Lark Lane, Liverpool
Newry Street, Banbridge
Wood Street, Walthamstow

The Great Place

Greenwich Market, London
Leicester Market, Leicester
Viking Triangle, Waterford

For more information on the Awards process, or for press enquiries, please contact Stephen Gallagher; +44 (0) 20 7251 8777

Post Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.