Academicians at AoU Congress 2015 in Birmingham

Academicians at AoU Congress 2015 in Birmingham

The Academy is built on the knowledge, experience and expertise of over 500 Academicians from across the public, private and third sectors. The membership is drawn from a wide range of backgrounds, embracing planning and design, community and cultural development, engineering and property, policy and politics, academia, media and the arts.

How to become an Academician

Joining the Academy means engaging with a diverse network of individuals who are committed to promoting and sharing the lessons learned from good urbanism. Academicians are nominated by their peers and selected on the basis of their contribution to the making and shaping of places through a variety of professional and personal means. You can also nominate yourself by completing our application form.

If you would like to find out more about becoming an Academician, please get in touch with Zarreen Hadadi, Membership Executive, on +44 (0) 20 7251 8777 or by emailing [email protected]


Find out who our Academicians are

To search our Academicians, use the ‘Members’ link at the top of this page.

The Academy encourages active participation from Academicians through involvement in the development of our programmes, events and The Urbanism Awards.

Local Activity Convenors

A growing number of events and activities are organised by Academicians themselves. Each of our regions is represented by one or more Convenors, who meet to discuss ideas and help facilitate action on the ground.

England – North East and Yorkshire
David Kemp, Spawforths
Adrian Spawforth, Spawforths
Robert Thompson
Rob Tranmer, HCA

England – North West
Emily Crompton, URBED
Jaimie Ferguson, OPEN
Mick Timpson, MTUD
Andrea Titterington

England – Midlands
John Best, John Best Re.Generation
Jon Phipps, Lathams
Stuart Turner, ST Architecture & Urban Design

England – East
Roger Estop, Chelmsford Borough Council
Adam Peavoy, Mecanoo

Kevin McGeough, HCA

England – South East
Prof Georgia Butina Watson, Oxford Brookes University
Jon Rowland, JRUD

England – South West
Prof Chris Balch, University of Plymouth
Geoff Haslam, Local Agenda Ltd

Philip Jackson, Scott Tallon Walker

Northern Ireland
Arthur Acheson

Ian Angus, SESplan
Ian Gilzean, Scottish Government
David Thompson, DPT Urban Design

Europe & International
Henk Bouwman, Urban-imPulse

Latin America & International
Dr Claudia Murray, University of Reading